Top 10 of 2015: #2 ICD-10

#2: United States Adopts ICD-10 (finally)


The U.S. healthcare industry caught up to 27 other countries by implementing the ICD-10 coding system on October 1, 2015. ICD-10 stands for the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems – 10th Revision. It is coding used by doctors, hospitals, and health plans to document diseases, diagnoses, and symptoms.  There are now more than 70,000 different codes to choose from, an increase of the 14,400 found in ICD-9. More codes mean better documentation of diseases, which can equate to better healthcare.

The federal government delayed the implementation three times before worried about the healthcare industry’s ability to implement successfully. However, this time around many healthcare companies shared positive results after the switch. This has been a long time coming. For example: United Kingdom adopted ICD-10 in 1995, Canada in 2000, China  in 2002, and France in 2005.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s